Primary tabs

The Festival de Cannes releases the Official Selection 2020


Festival de Cannes Official Selection 2020

Even though the 73rd Cannes Film Festival was cancelled, the organisers were keenly aware of their immense responsibility to the film industry to provide the Official Selection. Plus, as the head of the festival said in an interview, there are so many wonderful films this year. Set back a bit by the virus, the festival organised a way to ensure all jury members could screen the films and create the Official Selection, even without the festival. On 3 June, they released a varied and international list of 56 films with the coveted title "Sélection Officielle 2020 - Festival de Cannes"

The official selection includes the main competition and the secondary series "Un Certain Regard", plus all world premieres out of competition. In Corona year 2020, there is an exception, not a distinction between these series, but according to the following categories: "Faithful" (nominated again in Cannes), "Newcomer" (previously never nominated), "First feature film", "Documentary", "Comedy", "Animated film".

With Oskar Roehler's Fassbinder biopic "Enfant Terrible" (German theatrical release: October 1st), a German film made it among the chosen ones; Newcomer category. According to Spiegel-Online, the Berlinale had shown no interest in the film portrait of director Rainer Werner Fassbinder.

As always, there are numerous regular guests of the Croisette whose films are among the top 56, including Wes Andersen, Steve McQueen and François Ozon and Maïwenn. A striking number of French contributions were nominated.

According to the festival management, more than 2000 films were submitted for the first time, including 909 first time works.

This year, the organisers were a bit more liberal with their genres and selection criteria, as the 2020 "Sélection Officielle" label is primarily intended to help facilitate the release in cinemas and at other festivals. To read about the full impact of the Festival cancellation and the response of the Festival's General Director, Thierry Frémaux, click here.

And the nominees are...


THE FRENCH DISPATCH by Wes Anderson (USA) 1h43

ÉTÉ 85 by François Ozon (France) 1h40

ASA GA KURU (True Mothers) by Naomi Kawase (Japan) 2h20

LOVERS ROCK by Steve McQueen (United Kingdom) 1h08

MANGROVE by Steve McQueen (United Kingdom) 2h04

DRUK (Another Round) by Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark) 1h55

ADN (DNA) from Maïwenn (Algeria / France) 1h30

LAST WORDS by Jonathan Nossiter (USA) 2h06

HEAVEN: TO THE LAND OF HAPPINESS by IM Sang-Soo (South Korea) 1h40

EL OLVIDO QUE SEREMOS (Forgotten we'll be) from Fernando Trueba (Spain) 2h16

PENINSULA from YEON Sang-Ho (South Korea) 1h54

IN THE DUSK (Au crépuscule) by Sharunas BARTAS (Lituania) 2h06

DES HOMMES (Home Front) by Lucas BELVAUX (Belgium) 1h40

THE REAL THING by Kôji Fukada (Japan) 3h48



PASSION SIMPLE by Danielle Arbid (Lebanon) 1h36

A GOOD MAN by Marie Castille Mention-Schaar (France) 1h47

LES CHOSES QU'ON DIT, LES CHOSES QU'ON FAIT by Emmanuel Mouret (France) 2h

SOUAD by Ayten Amin (Egypt) 1h30

LIMBO by Ben Sharrock (United Kingdom) 1h53

ROUGE (Red Soil) from Farid Bentoumi (France) 1h26

SWEAT by Magnus Von Horn (Sweden) 1h40

TEDDY by Ludovic and Zoran Boukherma (France) 1h28

FEBRUARY (Février) from Kamen Kalev (Bulgaria) 2h05

AMMONITE by Francis Lee (United Kingdom) 2h

UN MÉDECIN DE NUIT by Elie Wajeman (France) 1h40

ENFANT TERRIBLE by Oskar Roehler (Germany) 2h14

NADIA, BUTTERFLY by Pascal Plante (Canada) 1h46

HERE WE ARE by Nir Bergman (Israel) 1h34



SEPTET: THE STORY OF HONG KONG by Ann Hui, Johnnie TO, Tsui Hark, Sammo Hung, Yuen Woo-Ping and Patrick Tam -1h53



FALLING by Viggo Mortensen (USA) 1h52

PLEASURE by Ninja Thyberg (Sweden) 1h45

SLALOM by Charlène Favier (France) 1h32

CASA DE ANTIGUIDADES (Memory House) by Joao Paulo Miranda Maria (Brazil) 1h27

BROKEN KEYS (Fausse note) by Jimmy Keyrouz (Lebanon) 1h30

IBRAHIM by Samir Guesmi (France) 1h20

BEGINNING (Au commencement) by Déa Kulumbegashvili (Georgia) 2h10

GAGARINE by Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh (France) 1h35

16 PRINTEMPS by Suzanne Lindon (France) 1h13

VAURIEN by Peter Dourountzis (France) 1h35

GARÇON CHIFFON by Nicolas Maury (France) 1h48

SI LE VENT TOMBE (Should the Wind Fall) by Nora Martirosyan (Armenia) 1h40

JOHN AND THE HOLE by Pascual Sisto (USA) 1h38

STRIDING INTO THE WIND (Courir au gré du vent) by WEI Shujun (China) 2h36

THE DEATH OF CINEMA AND MY FATHER TOO (La Mort du cinéma et de mon père aussi) by Dani Rosenberg (Israel) 1h40



EN ROUTE POUR LE MILLIARD (The Billion Road) by Dieudo Hamadi (Democratic Republic of Congo) 1h30

THE TRUFFLE HUNTERS by Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw (USA) 1h24

9 JOURS À RAQQA by Xavier de Lauzanne (France)



ANTOINETTE DANS LES CÉVÈNNES by Caroline Vignal (France) 1h35

LES DEUX ALFRED by Bruno Podalydès (France) 1h30

UN TRIOMPHE (The big hit) by Emmanuel Courcol (France) 1h40

L'ORIGINE DU MONDE by Laurent Lafitte (France) 1st film

LE DISCOURS by Laurent Tirard (France) 1h27



AYA TO MAJO (Earwig and the Witch) by Gorô Miyazaki (Japan) 1h22

FLEE by Jonas Poher Rasmussen (Denmark) 1h30

JOSEP by Aurel (France) 1h20 - 1st film

SOUL by Pete Docter (USA) 1h30