Primary tabs

Ten times a winner for Nadal!

Nadal has won the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters for the 10th time. Copyright RealisFor the incredible tenth time, Spaniard Rafael Nadal has won the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters tennis tournament! Not only is he the undefeated, record-holding champion of Monaco, he is also the first player in the history of the Open era to win 50 clay court tournaments.

The 2017 Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters (part of the Masters 1000 series) has a worthy winner: Rafael Nadal defeated his countryman Albert Ramos in the final round in just 78 minutes (6:1 and 6:3). 29-year-old Ramos from Barcelona, ​​despite his defeat against Nadal, is now in the top 20 for the first time.

For Nadal, it was a celebrated victory; with the exceptions of 2013, 2014 and 2015 (losing twice Djokovic and once to Wawrinka), he has won the tournament every year since 2005 every time.

The 111th edition of the tournament at the Monte-Carlo Country Club, with its unique setting and an incomparable backdrop of the Mediterranean Sea, was marked by some early defeats. Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland) went out in the Last 16 round. Novak Djokovic fell the round after.

135,000 visitors attended the tournament over its nine days of play. From last Tuesday to the finals, every seat was sold out!


Aila Stöckmann