Primary tabs

Women of the Year

On 14th May, the Prix Monte-Carlo Femme de l’Année honoured its winners for 2018 under the patronage of Prince Albert II of Monaco and the ceremony’s honorary president Princess Charlene.

L-R: Yelena Isinbaeva, Julie Gautier, Cinzia Sgambati-Colman, Prince Albert, Ornella Barra and Géraldine Rey. © Axel Bastello / PalaisPrincierThe theme for this year’s event, which took place in the elegant Salle d’Or of the Fairmont Monte-Carlo, was Women and Sport.

Frenchwoman and adventure rally driver Géraldine Rey was crowned Woman of the Year for her ‘contribution to facilitating the development of women in auto sports’ as well as her positive efforts to help the disadvantaged around the world.  

Russian pole-vaulter and Olympic gold medallist Yelena Isinbaeva received Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year for using her fame to help children in need and support others in discovering their sporting talents. She has also launched her own charitable foundation and is a Champion of Peace for the Monaco-based Peace and Sport Foundation.

Swiss woman Isabelle Henchoz was given the Special Award for Woman of the Year, for dedicating her life to helping others, and facilitating the practice of sports for disabled people.

Following the ceremony, Prince Albert received the winning ladies at the Palais Princier in the presence of Cinzia Sgambati-Colman, award president, and Ornella Barra, the co-COO of Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc., which sponsors the Prix. A theme has already been set for the 2019 edition: Women of Art and Science.